History

1958 I The story begins
We were in the midst of the First World War when Dr Viktor Girtanner sees the light of day in Lucerne in 1915. He laid the foundation for the future by studying chemistry at ETH Zurich. One day, his path crossed with financial expert Hermann Baehni. Together, they delve further and further into the plastics sector and finally establish Kunststoff AG Sarnen in 1958. Initially, they diligently produced nappies and paddling pools made of plastic foils, among other things.

On a train journey – so the legend goes – a conversation arose with a fellow passenger in which Dr Girtanner received a hint that foamed plastic materials had a high potential for the future. The idea of investing their assets in a foam factory was born. Thus, two years later, foam production was taken up and the range expanded to include products such as cool boxes and insulation boards.

The two founders set the course for a company that developed into a global player and one of the most important employers in the canton of Obwalden. They knew how to skilfully combine entrepreneurial spirit with social commitment. This participative-patronal management style of the early years was characterised by high esteem for the employees. Taking into account a healthy pursuit of profit – the vital objective of every company – profit maximisation, on the other hand, was clearly rejected. “The human being”, Dr Girtanner said, “is worth more than any economic goal. The human being is at the centre.”

HE WHO WANTS TO REAP MUST FIRST SOW THE SEED

From 1960 I Family atmosphere from the beginning

Dr Girtanner’s declared goal was the synthesis between profitability and humanity. His view was: “Everyone has a burning desire to mean something, and participation in the workplace is the basic prerequisite for entrepreneurial success.”

His way of thinking shaped the management. Programmes from his time include the possibility of discounted share purchases for employees, a solidarity programme for times of crisis, the permanent inclusion of a representative of the employee shareholders on the Board of Directors, the linking of the bonus to the dividend and the creation of an employee council.

After his retirement, Dr Girtanner’s thirst for knowledge was far from quenched, so he went on to study theology and worked as a hospital chaplain in Lucerne. He passed away in 2001 – at the ripe old age of 86. With the loss of Dr Viktor Girtanner, the canton of Obwalden has undoubtedly lost one of its most important industrial pioneers, a company founder from the very beginning, whose economic decisions and actions were always characterised by high ethical principles of a social market economy.

DRAW FROM THE SOURCE WITHIN YOU

From 1991 I Growth forces changes

Over the years, Sarna Kunststoff AG has developed from a predominantly regionally active, small company into an internationally active, medium-sized enterprise that is important for the canton of Obwalden where it is located.

Therefore, the generation of turnover shifted more and more abroad and increasingly required more funding. In the meantime, the number of employees had risen to over 3000. Where before activities were previously concentrated mainly at the Sarnen site, employees now worked for the Sarna Group in various countries around the world. Consequently, in 1991, the decision was made to found “Sarna Kunststoff Holding AG” and, at the same time, to list it on the Zurich Stock Exchange. With the holding company, the subsidiary “Folien- und Schaumstoff AG” was created, among others.

Later, in 1998, the subsidiary was renamed “Sarna Plastec AG”. The change of name was accompanied by an internal restructuring into four independently operating profit centres.

WHEN THE WIND OF CHANGE BLOWS...

"Can we still talk about a family?"

After the transfer of responsibility at the top of the company from the dominant founding father to a multi-member board of directors and group management, many of the previously established framework conditions for the practical implementation of the company culture had changed. Larger dimensions of the company, stock exchange listing, international shareholders, complexity of the structures and different subcultures of the employees forced a rethink. Some of the earlier cultural practices could no longer be maintained.

It was a time marked by change; so, in 2006, the Sarna Group was taken over by the Sika Group. The construction chemicals manufacturer was primarily interested in Sarnafil’s activities. With immediate effect, the activities of Sarna Plastec AG were no longer part of the core business of the new owner.

FINDING A NEW BELONGING...

2007 I People remain at the centre

Two employees of the Sarna Group, Kurt Maeder and André Strasser, had long wanted to run their own company, to follow new paths, to live their own life’s calling, to be their own bosses and to launch their own products.

So, one year after the takeover of Sarnafil by the Sika Group, Kurt Maeder and André Strasser completed the management buy-out of “Sarna Plastec AG”. The basic elements that Dr Girtanner had established are still in place today – and the majority of them have been retained. The core message is still that human capital is at the heart of the business. The day-to-day work performance to achieve objectives and the company’s appreciation of employees are of equal value as the available capital. A lively corporate culture and a positive spirit are oxygen for the company. Employees appreciation should be expressed through market-oriented remuneration, efficient facilities and concrete contributions by the company such as well-developed pension instruments, social support and safety nets for emergencies and hardships.

THOSE WHO WANT TO GO NEW WAYS MUST LEAVE OLD PATHS

From 2010 I Time for something new

After the MBO, the new building in Alpnach Dorf was constructed and moved into in 2010. Alpnach Dorf is the ideal location for the two entrepreneurs: It offers direct access to the motorway and is located in the heart of Switzerland.

André Strasser finally sold his shares to Kurt Maeder in 2020 at the age of 64 so that he could retire. He was the company’s Director of Marketing & Sales for many years and, therefore, played a decisive role in shaping the company. In his function as a member of the Board of Directors, the company may continue to draw on his wealth of experience.

True to the example of Dr Girtanner, Kurt Maeder continues to live the company values. It is important to him that all employees always form a harmonious and large family, in which each individual is respected and comes to work with joy in their hearts. Indeed: solidarity, humanity and responsibility for jobs always determine his actions. However, all these values are not enough to run a company successfully. Technical know-how paired with business management skills complete the overall picture. There is a reason why our customers tell us again and again that “Sarna Plastec can simply do it, no ifs or buts”. Such and similar statements make Kurt Maeder a proud entrepreneur!

SEEK SUPPORT FROM THE ROOTS AND GROW TOWARDS THE SKY

Quo vadis, Sarna Plastec?

Soon, Kurt Maeder will start his well-deserved retirement. His passions, golfing and staying at his holiday home in Andalusia, will certainly not be neglected. However, he will continue to make his knowledge and experience available to the company as Chairman of the Board of Directors. His son, Patrick Maeder, will continue to run the company over the next generation. Their relationship has always been very good, but today father and son are closer than ever before. Daily cooperation and succession planning weld them together even more.

MY DAD, MY MENTOR

Historique

1958 I L'histoire commence

Nous sommes en pleine Première Guerre mondiale lorsque le Dr Viktor Girtanner voit le jour à Lucerne en 1915. Ses études de chimie à l’EPF de Zurich lui permettent de poser les bases de son avenir. Un jour, son chemin croise celui de l’expert financier Hermann Baehni. Ensemble, ils se plongent dans le secteur des matières plastiques et finissent par créer la société Kunststoff AG Sarnen en 1958. Au début, ils produisent notamment un grand nombre de couches-culottes et de pataugeoires en film plastique.

Selon la légende, c’est au cours d’un voyage en train que le Dr Girtanner a eu une conversation avec un autre voyageur, au cours de laquelle il a compris que les matériaux plastiques expansés avaient un fort potentiel d’avenir. L’idée d’investir son capital dans une usine de fabrication de mousses était née. Ainsi, deux ans plus tard, la fabrication de mousses a été lancée et la gamme s’est élargie à des produits tels que les glacières et les plaques d’isolation.

Les deux fondateurs ont posé les jalons d’une entreprise qui est devenue une société internationale et l’un des plus importants employeurs du canton d’Obwald. Ils ont su habilement combiner l’esprit d’entreprise et l’engagement social. Ce style de direction participatif et patronal des premières années a été marqué par une grande valorisation des collaborateurs. En revanche, en tenant compte d’une saine recherche de profit – l’objectif vital de toute entreprise – la maximisation du profit a été clairement écartée. « L’être humain », explique le Dr. Girtanner, « vaut plus que n’importe quel objectif économique. Il est au centre. »

À partir de 1960 I Atmosphère familiale des débuts

À partir de 1960 I Atmosphère familiale des débuts

L’objectif déclaré du Dr Girtanner était de faire la synthèse entre la rentabilité et l’humanité. Son point de vue était clair : « Chaque créature a un désir ardent de représenter quelque chose et la collaboration sur le lieu de travail est la condition sine qua non du succès de l’entreprise ».

Sa façon de penser a marqué le management. C’est de cette époque que datent des programmes tels que la possibilité pour les collaborateurs d’acquérir des actions à prix réduit, un programme de solidarité en temps de crise, la présence fixe d’un représentant des collaborateurs actionnaires au conseil d’administration, l’association de la gratification aux dividendes et la création d’un conseil des collaborateurs.
Après sa retraite, la soif de connaissances du Dr Girtanner étant loin d’être étanchée, il étudie ensuite la théologie et travaille comme aumônier d’hôpital à Lucerne. Il est décédé en 2001, à l’âge respectable de 86 ans. Avec la disparition du Dr Viktor Girtanner, le canton d’Obwald a sans aucun doute perdu l’un des plus grands pionniers de l’industrie, un fondateur d’entreprise de la première heure, dont les décisions et les actions économiques ont toujours été marquées par des principes éthiques élevés d’économie sociale de marché.

PUISE À LA SOURCE QUI EST EN TOI

À partir de 1991 I La croissance impose des changements

Sarna Kunstoff AG s’est développée au fil des ans, passant d’une petite entreprise essentiellement régionale à une entreprise de taille moyenne active au niveau international et déterminante pour le canton d’Obwald où elle est implantée. 

Ainsi, la majeure partie du chiffre d’affaires fut progressivement réalisée à l’étranger, nécessitant de plus en plus de moyens financiers. Le nombre de collaborateurs a fini par dépasser les 3000. Si les activités se concentraient jusqu’à présent principalement sur le site de Sarnen, des collaborateurs travaillaient désormais pour le groupe Sarna dans différents pays du monde. Par conséquent, la décision a été prise en 1991 de créer la société « Sarna Kunstoff Holding AG » et de la faire coter à la bourse de Zurich. La holding a notamment donné naissance à la filiale « Folien- und Schaumstoff AG ».

Plus tard, en 1998, la filiale a été rebaptisée « Sarna Plastec AG ». Le changement de nom a entraîné une restructuration interne en quatre centres de profit agissant de manière indépendante.

QUAND LE VENT DU CHANGEMENT SOUFFLE...

« Peut-on encore parler de famille ? »

Après le transfert de la responsabilité à la tête de l’entreprise du père fondateur dominant à un conseil d’administration et une direction de groupe composés de plusieurs personnes, de nombreuses conditions cadres établies auparavant pour la mise en œuvre pratique de la culture d’entreprise avaient changé. Les dimensions plus importantes de l’entreprise, la cotation en bourse, l’actionnariat international, la complexité des structures et les différentes sous-cultures des collaborateurs ont obligé à repenser l’entreprise. Une partie des caractéristiques culturelles d’antan ne put être maintenue.

Ce fut une période marquée par des changements et c’est ainsi qu’en 2006, le groupe Sarna a été racheté par le groupe Sika. Le fabricant de produits chimiques pour la construction était principalement intéressé par les activités de Sarnafil. Dès lors, les activités de Sarna Plastec SA ne firent plus partie du cœur de métier du nouveau propriétaire.

À LA RECHERCHE D’UNE NOUVELLE IDENTITÉ...

2007 I L’human reste au centre des préoccupations

Deux collaborateurs du groupe Sarna, Kurt Maeder et André Strasser, nourrissaient depuis longtemps le souhait de diriger leur propre entreprise, d’explorer de nouvelles voies, de vivre leur propre vocation, d’être leurs propres patrons et de lancer leurs propres produits.

Ainsi, un an après la reprise de Sarnafil par le groupe Sika, le management buy-out de « Sarna Plastec SA » fut mené par Kurt Maeder et André Strasser. Les principes de base établis par le Dr Girtanner sont encore valables aujourd’hui et ont été conservés pour la plupart d’entre eux. Le message clé reste que le capital humain est au cœur de l’entreprise. Le travail quotidien fourni pour atteindre les objectifs et la valorisation de ce travail par les collaborateurs ont la même valeur que le capital disponible. Une culture d’entreprise vivante et un esprit positif sont de l’oxygène pour l’entreprise. L’appréciation des collaborateurs doit s’exprimer par une rémunération conforme au marché, des installations performantes et des contributions concrètes de l’entreprise telles que des instruments de prévoyance bien développés, un encadrement social et des filets de sécurité en cas d’urgence ou de difficultés.

POUR EMPRUNTER DE NOUVELLES VOIES, IL FAUT SORTIR DES ANCIENS SENTIERS

À partir de 2010 I L’ère de la nouveauté

Après le MBO, le nouveau bâtiment d’Alpnach Dorf a été construit et inauguré en 2010. Pour les deux entrepreneurs, Alpnach Dorf est le site idéal : Il offre un accès direct à l’autoroute et se trouve au cœur de la Suisse.

André Strasser a finalement vendu ses parts à Kurt Maeder en 2020, à l’âge de 64 ans, pour prendre sa retraite. Il a dirigé l’entreprise pendant de nombreuses années en tant que directeur du marketing et des ventes et a ainsi contribué de manière déterminante à l’évolution de l’entreprise. En sa qualité de membre du conseil d’administration, l’entreprise peut continuer à s’appuyer sur sa grande expérience.

Fidèle à l’exemple du Dr Girtanner, Kurt Maeder continue de vivre les valeurs de l’entreprise. Il est important pour lui que tous les collaborateurs forment toujours une grande famille harmonieuse dans laquelle chaque individu est respecté et vient travailler avec plaisir. Dans les faits : La solidarité, l’humanité et la responsabilité pour les emplois déterminent toujours son action. Mais toutes ces valeurs ne suffisent pas pour diriger une entreprise avec succès. Un savoir-faire technique associé à des compétences en gestion d’entreprise complètent le profil. Nos clients sont les premiers à le dire : « Sarna Plastec peut le faire tout simplement, sans jamais hésiter. » Avec de telles déclarations, Kurt Maeder peut être un entrepreneur fier de ce qu’il a réalisé !

CHERCHER LA STABILITÉ AVEC SES RACINES TOUT EN VISANT LE CIEL

Quo vadis, Sarna Plastec?
Kurt Maeder prendra bientôt une retraite bien méritée. Il est temps pour lui de vivre sa passion, le golf, et de profiter de séjours dans sa résidence de vacances en Andalousie. Il continuera toutefois à faire profiter l’entreprise de ses connaissances et de son expérience en tant que président du conseil d’administration. Son fils, Patrick Maeder, reprendra l’entreprise dans la prochaine génération. Leur relation a toujours été très bonne, mais aujourd’hui, le père et le fils sont plus proches que jamais. La collaboration quotidienne et la planification de la succession les soudent encore davantage.

MON PAPA, MON MENTOR